in ,

Here’s How Your Senator Voted On Government Shutdown

Friday night, the U.S. Senate failed to pass a spending bill that would have averted government shutdown.

Five Republicans voted NO on the bill, and along with the 44 Democrats who voted NO on the bill, effectively stopped the bill from moving forward, thus resulting in government shutdown.

via CNBC:

The measure failed in a procedural vote by a 50 to 49 margin. Five Democrats — Joe Manchin of West Virginia, Joe Donnelly of Indiana, Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota, Doug Jones of Alabama and Claire McCaskill of Missouri — had backed it. Four Republicans — Lindsey Graham of South Carolina, Jeff Flake of Arizona, Rand Paul of Kentucky and Mike Lee of Utah — opposed it. So did Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell for procedural reasons.

Incidentally, this isn’t the #SchumerShutdown. Republicans caused this, and ultimately it’s the #TrumpShutdown, because, well…

Here is a breakdown of how your senator voted. For the full list by state, scroll to the bottom of the article.

The breakdown

I pulled this screengrab from the New York Times to give you a different visual.


New York Times

Breakdown by state

Sen. Lisa Murkowski, Republican: YES
Sen. Dan Sullivan, Republican: YES
Sen. Doug Jones, Democrat: YES
Sen. Richard Shelby, Republican: YES
Sen. John Boozman, Republican: YES
Sen. Tom Cotton, Republican: YES
Sen. Jeff Flake, Republican: NO
Sen. John McCain, Republican: Did not vote
Sen. Dianne Feinstein, Democrat: NO
Sen. Kamala Harris, Democrat: NO
Sen. Michael Bennet, Democrat: NO
Sen. Cory Gardner, Republican: YES
Sen. Richard Blumenthal, Democrat: NO
Sen. Christopher Murphy, Democrat: NO
Sen. Thomas Carper, Democrat: NO
Sen. Chris Coons, Democrat: NO
Sen. Bill Nelson, Democrat: NO
Sen. Marco Rubio, Republican: YES
Sen. Johnny Isakson, Republican: YES
Sen. David Perdue, Republican: YES
Sen. Mazie Hirono, Democrat: NO
Sen. Brian Schatz, Democrat: NO
Sen. Joni Ernst, Republican: YES
Sen. Chuck Grassley, Republican: YES
Sen. Mike Crapo, Republican: YES
Sen. Jim Risch, Republican: YES
Sen. Tammy Duckworth, Democrat: NO
Sen. Dick Durbin, Democrat: NO
Sen. Joe Donnelly, Democrat: YES
Sen. Todd Young, Republican: YES
Sen. Jerry Moran, Republican: YES
Sen. Pat Roberts, Republican: YES
Sen. Mitch McConnell, Republican: NO
Sen. Rand Paul, Republican: NO
Sen. Bill Cassidy, Republican: YES
Sen. John Kennedy, Republican: YES
Sen. Edward Markey, Democrat: NO
Sen Elizabeth Warren, Democrat: NO
Sen. Ben Cardin, Democrat: NO
Sen. Chris Van Hollen, Democrat: NO
Sen. Susan Collins, Republican: YES
Sen. Angus King, Independent: NO
Sen. Gary Peters, Democrat: NO
Sen. Debby Stabenow, Democrat: NO
Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Democrat: NO
Sen. Tina Smith, Democrat: NO
Sen. Roy Blunt, Republican: YES
Sen. Claire McCaskill, Democrat: YES
Sen. Thad Cochran, Republican: YES
Sen. Roger Wicker, Republican: YES
Sen. Steve Daines, Republican: YES
Sen. Jon Tester, Democrat: NO
North Carolina
Sen. Richard Burr, Republican: YES
Sen. Thom Tillis, Republican: YES
North Dakota
Sen. Heidi Heitkamp, Democrat: YES
Sen. John Hoeven, Republican: YES
Sen. Deb Fischer, Republican: YES
Sen. Ben Sasse, Republican: YES
New Hampshire
Sen. Maggie Hassan, Democrat: NO
Sen. Jeanne Shaheen, Democrat: NO
New Jersey
Sen. Cory Booker, Democrat: NO
Sen. Robert Menendez, Democrat: NO
New Mexico
Sen. Martin Heinrich, Democrat: NO
Sen. Tom Udall, Democrat: NO
Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto, Democrat: NO
Sen. Dean Heller, Republican: YES
New York
Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, Democrat: NO
Sen. Chuck Schumer, Democrat: NO
Sen. Rob Portman, Republican: YES
Sen. Sherrod Brown, Democrat: NO
Sen. James Inhofe, Republican: YES
Sen. James Lankford, Republican: YES
Sen. Jeff Merkley, Democrat: NO
Sen. Ron Wyden, Democrat: NO
Sen. Bob Casey, Democrat: NO
Sen. Pat Toomey, Republican: YES
Rhode Island
Sen. Jack Reed, Democrat: NO
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse, Democrat: NO
South Carolina
Sen. Lindsey Graham, Republican NO
Sen. Tim Scott, Republican: YES
South Dakota
Sen. Mike Rounds, Republican: YES
Sen. John Thune, Republican: YES
Sen. Lamar Alexander, Republican: YES
Sen. Bob Corker, Republican: YES
Sen. John Cornyn, Republican: YES
Sen. Ted Cruz, Republican: YES
Sen. Orrin Hatch, Republican: YES
Sen. Mike Lee, Republican: NO
Sen. Tim Kaine, Democrat: NO
Sen. Mark Warner, Democrat: NO
Sen. Patrick Leahy, Democrat: NO
Sen. Bernie Sanders, Independent: NO
Sen. Maria Cantwell, Democrat: NO
Sen. Patty Murray, Democrat: NO
Sen. Tammy Baldwin, Democrat: NO
Sen. Ron Johnson, Republican: YES
West Virginia
Sen. Shelley Moore Capito, Republican: YES
Sen. Joe Manchin, Democrat: YES
Sen. John Barasso, Republican: YES
Sen. Michael Enzi, Republican: YES

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Written by Tiffany Willis Clark

Tiffany Willis Clark is a fifth-generation Texan, a proponent of voluntary simplicity, a single mom, and the founder and editor-in-chief of Liberal America. An unapologetic member of the Christian Left, she has spent most of her career actively working with “the least of these" -- disadvantaged and oppressed populations, the elderly, people living in poverty, at-risk youth, and unemployed people. She is a Certified Workforce Expert with the National Workforce Institute, a NAWDP Certified Workforce Development Professional, and a certified instructor for Franklin Covey's 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens. Follow her on Twitter, Facebook, or LinkedIn. She also has a grossly neglected personal blog, a  Time Travel blog, a site dedicated to encouraging people to  read classic literature 15 minutes a day, and a literary quotes blog that is a labor of love. Find her somewhere and join the discussion.

Click here to buy Tiff a mojito.